Doctors Offices, and School Days, and Glasses, oh my! 

I can only use that joke once… I hope I used it well.

Co-Parenting is hard. Especially when your co-parent is difficult. What should have been a simple appointment turned into a whole bunch of ugly in front of the kids. The boys have two appointments today so Kim has elected to take them out of school for the day. And that’s her right, she’s the parent in custody of the kids today. Or, as she said when she picked them up (in front of them), “The kids are MINE as of 8:00am”. So far, we’ve had one lie about an appointment that didn’t exist, a non-response to whether or not they’re going to school, a lie about an appointment time (presumably so Curtis would miss it), and stress about benefits and who is paying for what for Reegan’s glasses. I just don’t understand why it has to be so hard and I wish I could fix it. Reegan was apparently clinging to Kim saying that he didn’t want to go to school, he wanted to go with her. It’s really like they’re different kids. Where is the gregarious kid we know? The kid who is independent and headstrong and wants to give his dad and “I Love You” pillow for Christmas. Why is he so different with her? Will they see what she’s like one day? Or when it comes down to it, do they really want to be with her? More questions than answers for sure. I try to remember that we’re in the thick of it all. A lot of people have been here and eventually found some peace. Today, we’re stressed. And trying not to let it affect the rest of our lives. It’s not always easy, and sometimes life can be deceiving. I’ll tell you one thing, it’s always better when we’re together.

I think about starting a Step-Parents group sometimes. Like maybe we could all help each other. Just a thought for right now.

image1

We had a nice family night last night. Well, minus the fighting and subsequent time outs. The tree is up, the house is decorated (the kids love it). And I was less grinchy than I expected. Even watched the Country Christmas special. I hope this year I can like Christmas more. I’m really trying. It’s all for the kids. Reegan saw our ornament from last year and he said oh… Katrina WAS in our family, lol. It was cute. We’re a family. 🙂

image2

Leave a Reply

